Educational System

The higher education system in Italy includes two main parts:

  • University sector
  • Non-University sector

At present the university sector consists of 89 higher educational institutions:

  • 58 state universities
  • 17 private universitites with accreditation
  • 2 universitites for foreign students
  • 6 higher schools specializing in postgraduate programms
  • 6 technical universities of telematics and telecommunications

The non-university sector consists of three types of educational institutions:

  • Higher schools of design: art schools, academies of fine arts,  schools of applied arts, musical conservatories, choreographic schools, national academies
  • Schools of translators
  • Higher education institutions of integrated education: narrow technical directions, archive business, diplomacy, restoration, military affairs. These universities are controlled more by the relevant ministries than by the Ministry of Education

Source: Ministry of Education of Italy.


As indicated on the diagram school education in Italy lasts 13 years unlike Russian 11-years education.

Because of the difference in the number of years spent in secondary school Italian universities accept Russian students only on the condition that the student has graduated from secondary school (received a secondary school certificate), and also completed training for one year in a University in Russia. However, there is also a positive moment: the specialty that a student has studied at a Russian university during this year can be any subject and does not affect the specialty in Italian University.

The program of the first higher education in Italy (Laurea Triennale) lasts for three years after which you get a state diploma and a bachelor’s degree. Then you can start work or continue your higher education by enrolling in a master’s program. Classical magistracy (Laurea Magistrale) with a master’s degree lasts for two years. In addition, you can choose a shorter master’s program lasting one year (Master).